top of page
20181018_140413_edited_edited.jpg

Near Things is here to speak with fellow Kentuckians about our relationship to the environment, social responsibility, and civil engagement.

"Everything is related to everything, but near things are more related than distant things."

​

Waldo Tobler

Search
  • Writer's pictureNear Things

... Reluctantly

Updated: Dec 5, 2018


The decision to exercise my right to vote was a difficult one. When I chose, I was afraid I made the wrong choice. The ballot has been this sort of line up of misshapen tools- dangerous when employed. There have been very few candidates that inspire me. Naturally, I retreat until it is time for me to collect my sticker that would be better suited with one added word: reluctantly.


Still, I vote. I vote because I am underrepresented though I relate to so many of my neighbors. I vote to show I care about the conditions under which we live.


For each of the few names that make it onto the ballot there is a pool of potential leaders who lack some essential element, some resource, some support that myself and my likely equally underrepresented neighbors could help provide if we decide break from routine and truly engage.


Following midterm elections I asked a handful of my neighbors and peers if they had taken the time to vote. Many said no. I questioned whether my apathetic vote meant more.


Let’s move with intent and purpose. Make your vote mean more. Or make your choice not to vote mean more. Each of our decisions have effect, each of our voices carry influence. Let’s acknowledge this and be vehicles for positive change. Our ideas have no hands, but our own and together we are a machine. Learn the issues that affect us. Learn who is responsible for representing you. These small steps are a good place to start. Connect with your neighbors and local leaders who work at the ground level to inspire future leaders.

It is common for us to think of politics as a compilations of unreasonable concepts floating way overhead, but I submit to you that ordinary acts that improve the status and experiences of our neighbors are exactly the politics that #Kentucky needs.



- Ari Turner


84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Voted

Every two years I hear the same joke while I'm waiting in line at my polling place. Someone stepping out of the booth grabs a sticker on their way out the door, and the worker manning the table laughs

bottom of page